2020-2021 Board of Directors


Warren A. Jones, MD, FAAFP

Title Chair

Positions held
  • Captain , United States Navy Medical Corps (Ret.)
  • Professor Emeritus of Family Medicine, University of Mississippi Medical Center

Marcus Plescia, MD, MPH

Title Vice-Chair

Positions held
  • Chief Medical Officer, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials

Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, PhD, RN, ARPN-CNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN

Title Secretary/Treasurer

Positions held
  • Vice President for Health Promotion,
  • University Chief Wellness Officer,
  • Dean and Professor,
  • College of Nursing Professor of Pediatrics & Psychiatry, College of Medicine, The Ohio State University
  • Executive Director, Helene Fuld Health Trust National Institute for Evidence-Based Practice

Kimberly F. Stitzel, MS, RD

Title Immediate Past-Chair

Positions held
  • National Forum for Heart Disease & Stroke Prevention
Positions held

John M. Clymer

Title Executive Director (Ex Officio)

Emeritus Founder

Darwin R. Labarthe, MD, MPH, PhD

Positions held
  • Professor, Preventive Medicine
  • Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine


Jay Bhatt, DO, MPH, MPA

Positions held
  • Founder and Principal of JDB Strategies, A health equity and innovation consulting firm
  • Medical Contributor, ABC News
  • Adjunct Professor, University of Illinois at Chicago, School of Public Health
  • Former Sr. Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, American Hospital Association

Juliana Crawford

Positions held
  • Senior Vice President, Portfolio Management, American Heart Association

Michael W. Cropp, MD, MBA

Positions held
  • President and Chief Executive Officer, Independent Health

Rosemary McGillan

Positions held
  • Chief Marketing and Communications Officer, American Red Cross

Mark McEwen

Positions held
  • Journalist, Health Advocate, Stroke Survivor,

Ileana L. Piña, MD, MPH, FAHA, FACC

Positions held
  • Professor of Medicine , Wayne State University
  • Clinical Professor of Medicine, Central Michigan University

Marcus Plescia, MD MPH

Positions held
  • Chief Medical Officer, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials

Karol Watson, MD, PhD, FACC

Positions held
  • Professor of Medicine/Cardiology, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
  • Co-director, UCLA Program in Preventive Cardiology
  • Director, UCLA Barbra Streisand Women's Heart Health Program

Federal Liaisons

Walter Koroshetz, MD

Positions held
  • Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke National Institutes of Health

Captain Kimberly Elenberg, DNP

Positions held
  • U.S. Public Health Service
  • Director, Executive Office of Force Resiliency
  • Office of the Undersecretary of Defense for Personnel and Readiness, Department of Defense

David C. Goff, Jr. MD, PhD

Positions held
  • Director, Division of Cardiovascular Sciences, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute

Emmeline Ochiai, MPH

Positions held
  • Health Advisor, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Department of Health and Human Services/Office of Public Health and Science

Janet S. Wright, MD, FACC

Positions held
  • Director (Acting), Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention


David R. Zook

Positions held
  • Chair, Faegre Drinker Consulting

Chief Scientific Advisor

Stephen Sidney, MD, MPH

Positions held
  • Director of Research Clinics, Kaiser Permanente Northern California Division of Research