Advisory Leadership Council

The Advisory Leadership Council is an advisory group of nationally-recognized leaders from various sectors appointed by the Board of Directors to provide guidance and assist the Board in shaping and advancing strategies for improving cardiovascular health and health equity.


Keith C. Ferdinand, MD, FACC, FAHA, FASH, FNLA

Positions held
  • Professor of Clinical Medicine, Tulane University School of Medicine

Carolyn L. Koenig, MD

Positions held
  • Medical Chair of Quality and Care Management, Mercy Clinic East Community

Penny M. Kris-Etherton, PhD, RD, FAHA, FNLA, FASN, CLS

Positions held
  • Evan Pugh University Professor of Nutritional Sciences,
  • Department of Nutritional Sciences, Penn State University

Hon. Jerome M. Adams, MD, MPH

Positions held
  • 20th Surgeon General of the United States,
  • Presidential Fellow, Executive Director of Purdue's Health Equity Initiatives, and Distinguished Professor of Practice, Purdue University

Ann Marie Navar, MD, PhD, FAHA, FASCP

Positions held
  • Associate Professor of Medicine (Cardiology), UT Southwestern Medical Center

Stephen Sidney, MD, MPH

Positions held
  • Chief Scientific Advisor, National Forum for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention

Kevin B. Sneed, PharmD, FNAP, FNPHA

Positions held
  • Sr. Associate Vice-President, University of South Florida (USF) Health
  • Dean and Professor, USF Health Taneja College of Pharmacy

Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSc, MACC, FAHA, MACP, FHFSA

Positions held
  • Vice Dean, Diversity & Inclusion,
  • Magerstadt Professor of Medicine,
  • Professor of Medical Social Sciences,
  • Chief of Cardiology in the Department of Medicine, Feinberg School of Medicine
  • Associate Director, Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute Northwestern Memorial Hospital